Joint-Use Schools Project Remains On-Time and On-Budget in Saskatoon and Area

Deputy Premier and Education Minister Don Morgan joined school division officials to tour the joint-use schools in Saskatoon and area.  The construction of 12 new elementary schools on six joint-use sites in Saskatoon, Martensville and Warman are on schedule with completion expected for summer 2017.

Saskatoon’s schools will be located in Hampton Village, Evergreen, Rosewood and Stonebridge; the Warman schools will be built in the Traditions neighbourhood; and the Martensville schools in Lake Vista.  Six more schools are also being built on three joint-use sites in Regina.  Joint Use Mutual Partnership is the consortium of companies that is designing, building, financing and maintaining all 18 schools on nine joint-use sites.  Construction began in September 2015.

“It’s great to see how much work has been completed and to get a sense of what the schools will look like when classes officially begin,” Morgan said.  “We would like to thank our school division, municipal and construction partners for their tireless efforts during the design and construction phase to ensure that these schools will be completed on-time and on-budget.”

The schools will accommodate more than 11,000 students from Prekindergarten to Grade 8 at full design capacity, which includes more than 5,700 students in Saskatoon, 2,100 students in Martensville and Warman, and 3,300 students in Regina.  Each joint-use school will contain a 90-space child care centre as well as community space.  Joint-use schools are co-owned by the public and Catholic school divisions.

Since 2007, the province has committed approximately $1.4 billion toward 65 major school capital projects and numerous smaller projects such as portable classrooms and preventative maintenance and renewal.